Food and Wine–the second 10 years

As I pored through the second 10 years of my Food and Wine magazines I realized that what I found wasn’t so much about memories but about connections from my past to my present life.  For instance, I must have come across at least 20 recipes for raita.  Obviously in the past raita meant nothing to me because I have no recollection of reading any of those recipes.  However, since Ghufrana, our Pakistani pastry chef (that’s how I always refer to her:  Ghufrana, our Pakistani pastry chef) started making the absolute best Chicken Biryani, accompanied, of course, by her famous and yet secret recipe of cucumber-tomato raita it’s become a part of my world.  I wish I could give you the recipes for both but, as I said, they’re both top secret.  Suffice it to say that lots of cardamom, cinnamon sticks and perfectly cookedbasmati  rice are involved.

There were many other connections that kept popping out at me along with wonderful taste memories so, let’s get this party started:
 

2001 

July –Didn’t find anything that struck a bell until this month –I found an article on  Giada De Laurentiis pre Food Network.   At this time she was just a lowly personal chef to Ron Howard and others. You can see that someone had already picked her out for stardom though.  She will soon be flashing those big white teeth and teasing us with her provocative cleavage every day of the week for years to come.  The Top 10 Chefs this year included  Wylie Dufresne, Anita Lo, and Will Packwood.  Now, of course, everyone knows Wylie Dufresne, the goofy gastronomic wizard, and I got to know Anita Lo through Top Chef Masters.  And I actually personally know Will Packwood.  He was the first top chef chosen from Austin (that I found anyway).  He’s a friend of my friend, Sonja and we had drinks and apps with him about a year ago at Hyde Park Bar & Grill.  (He was drinking wine spritzers but I still liked him.)  Unfortunately, he’s had two restaurants here in town fail:  Emilia’s and Cibo.  Now he’s working for Hardy’s (a food distributor).  Will, Will, Will, buddy.  Get back in the kitchen.  Get out of town, move to Italy, go on Top Chef, do something!  Open up a little food  trailer with Sonja and me.  You’re squandering away your talent!
October -Idly thumbing through this month I came across the holy grail:  Star Anise Pork. I have a copy of the recipe in my cookbook that my sister, Jordon sent me.  I’ve looked at it a hundred times and never really made the connection that it came from Food and Wine.  It’s so weird to see the real thing.    It’s like going to Florence and seeing Michelangelo’s David after looking at cheap little copies and caricatures of it all your life.  Although I admit, I didn’t tear up the way I did while viewing David and his perfect ass, it was still quite moving.  I suppose I should include the recipe after all this build-up.  I really shouldn’t because it’s been my go-to in my catering career for about 5 years now.  And I really shouldn’t tell you that it’s best on homemade sourdough buns.  But I think I’m safe there because I would be willing to bet that most of you do not have a sourdough starter sitting in your refrigerator, bubbling and burping and waiting to be fed and used again.  So, just because I love you all here you go:

Star Anise Pork

1/2 cup chicken stock

1/4 cup dry sherry

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 tablespoons light brown sugar

2 whole star anise pods, crushed

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 teaspoon Chinese five-spice powder

One 3-pound boneless pork shoulder, tied (I’ve never tied it, and I’ve used bone-in also)

Salt and fresly ground pepper

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons coarsely chopped cilantro (optional)

1.  In a small bowl, mix the stock with the sherry, soy sauce, brown sugar, star anise, garlic and five-spice powder.

2.  Season the pork with salt and pepper.  Heat the oil in a large enamaled cast-iron casserole.  Add the pork and cook over moderate heat, turing occasionally, until browned all over, about 15 minutes.  Add the sauce mixture and bring to a boil, scraping up any browned bits from the bottom of the casserole.  Cover tightly and cook over low heat for about 3 hours, turning the roast every 30 minutes, until very tender.  Remove the pork and boil the sauce until it is reduced to 1 cup, about 5 minutes.  Discard the strings.  Pull the pork into long shreds and return to the casserole Garnish with the cilantro and serve.

Reading through 2001, starting with September I became morbidly curious as to when and how 911 was addressed and handled.  I finally found it in November and it was really beautifully done:

“From the editors: The staff of Food & Wine mourns the thousands of people lost on September 11 and grieves along with those who knew and loved them. As this Thanksgiving issue goes to press, with smoke still rising from the wreckage of the World Trade Center, a few miles south of our office, we see a small bright spot: the response of countless fellow New Yorkers who have been cooking for the rescue workers and for the relatives and friends of the missing. This simple, earnest act on the part of chefs, restaurateurs and ordinary people at home in their kitchens reminds us that food has the power to console in times of loss, as well as to help us celebrate in times of joy. We dedicate this issue to those who need consolation now and to those who are offering it.”

Ah, the beautiful, healing power of food.
November- Bourbon has found its way into so many of our Thanksgiving recipes that I’m sure I made this one: Maple-Glazed Turkey with Bourbon-Pecan Gravy. If not, I think I should. It just sounds so me!  The Warm Brussels Sprout Slaw with Bacon rings a distant bell.  My annual attempt to like brussels sprouts.  It never works but the bacon sure must have helped.  This same month I found another catering stand-by that I had no idea originated here.  I think I picked up the recipe from  Jordon:   Grilled Pancetta-Wrapped Shrimp with Fresh Herbs.  A bit time consuming but always a show stopper at any party.  (P.S.  I usually barbecue mine.)

2002

March-I came across a wonderful article called Undercover in Napa by Lettie Teague.  Now, this one really hits home because my entire extended family feels the exact same way about this winery and this asshole that works there.  Lettie says, ” There is only one mean man in Napa. One of the best things about being a tourist in Napa is the friendliness of the people. In fact, almost everyone seems to be smiling. Except, that is, at V. Sattui Winery. I’d never visited V. Sattui before. But because the guidebooks recommend it and a friend told me it was her favorite place of all, I decided to check it out. Both the guides and my friend had made much of the winery’s cheese selection, not to mention its free tasting of winery-only bottles. What I found instead was grocery-store-caliber cheeses all wrapped in plastic and a tasting room set up to resemble a wild West saloon. Here Napa’s Mean Man was at work. His job was to pour people the wine they requested. I approached smiling and pointed to a name on the blackboard. The Mean Man snarled in reply, “Don’t you dare point at me!” And he added, in case I didn’t get his meaning, “Do I look like your waiter?” I asked politely as possible for a taste of Zinfandel and set my glass down as soon as he turned away. Perhaps the reason V. Sattui wines aren’t sold anywhere else is that the Mean Man also serves at the winery’s sales rep?” 

 We had a similar distasteful experience and will not only never go there but won’t even drink their wines.  We always say the name of the winery like we’re spitting:  SaT’OOEY.  The way you’re treated at a winery really does make a difference.  Frank had such a horrible experience at DeLoach probabaly, oh, 30 years ago that to this day he refuses to drink their wine.  Keep this in mind winery people, when hiring!!! You should hire someone like my cousin, Robert who is knowledgeable, accomodating, funny and charming. You hear that Francis?
December – Lettie Teague again. I must say I have thoroughly enjoyed Lettie Teague’s aritcles over the years.  I love her writing style which is a lot like, well, mine, and I agree with her on many, many subjects. She seems like someone I would love to hang out with drinking wine and saying mean, snarky things about the people around us.  This article was about sparkling roses which I adore.  She also prominently mentions her pushy, grumpy prick of a husband.  I can certainly see why they got divorced.  You’re better off  without him Lettie!  Now you can enjoy the food and wine that you like!
 

2003 

 April-Ran across this:   Where to go next in San Francisco.  They mention Tartine Bakery (at 600 Guerrero).  When I read this I had literally just gone there 2 days before with my niece, Lindsey.  Can’t say that I loved it as much as apparently everybody else in the city does, judging by the line out the door, but it was pretty good.  (The cappucinnos–or I suppose I should say, cappuccini– where I work are MUCH better though.) 

2004

I didn’t find much of anything this year except a bunch of appointment slips from Kaiser Permanente.  I guess I was a little more caught up in my bunion surgeries than experimenting with new recipes.  It certainly shows what I liked to read in the waiting room though.   I do recall making the Roasted Onions and  Mushrooms  for Thanksgiving.  I remember everyond liked them except my mom.

2005

February– Found the Pistachio-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Pancetta. I didn’t realize it’s Adria Ferran’s recipe. No wonder it’s so luxurious.  Now I feel kind of proud that I’m able to execute it, although I must admit, on occasion the pancetta has fallen off during cooking.  It’s really a wonderful recipe for a very special occasion.

Pistachio-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Pancetta

 1/3 cup unsalted pistachios

1 tablespoon chopped thyme

1 ½  teaspoons chopped rosemary

1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Salt and freshly ground pepper

One 1 ½ pound rack of lamb, frenched (8 chops)

6 ounces thinly sliced pancetta or bacon

8 scallions, white and tender green parts only

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  In the bowl of a mini processor, finely chop the pistachios with the thyme and rosemary.  Add half of the olive oil and process to a paste; season with salt and pepper.  Scrape half of the pistachio paste into a small bowl and stir in the remaining olive oil.
  2. Coat the lamb with half of the remaining pistachio paste.  Wrap the pancetta slices around the lamb, between the bones, leaving the bones exposed.  Spread the remaining pistachio paste over the pancetta and set the rack in a small roasting pan.  Roast the rack for about 40 minutes, or until an instant-read thermometer inserted in the center of the meat registers 130 degrees for medium-rare.  Transfer the lamb to a cutting board and let rest for 5 minutes.  Reserve the pan drippings.
  3. Meanwhile, spoon 1 teaspoon of the rendered pancetta fat from the roasting pan into a medium skillet and heat until shimmering.  Add the scallions and cook over high heat until softened and browned in spots, about 4 minutes.  Carve the lamb rack into four 2-chop servings and transfer them to plates along with the scallions.  Drizzle the pistachio pesto all around and serve right away.

Note:  I’ve never cooked the lamb for 40 minutes.  Usually between 20 and 30.  I have also barbecued it but it doesn’t work as well.  Also, I don’t think I actually ever did step 3.

May -Oven-Fried Pork Carnitas with Guacamole and Orange Salsa. I SO remember making this recipe.  My sisters and I were at my mom’s house for some reason and she was out and about, probably playing tennis or something so we were in charge of dinner.  We had all read the recipe and couldn’t wait to make it!  Actually Jordon and I were a little more excited than Julie, owing to the fat content of the recipe.  It’s chunks of  browned pork cooked in 2 cups of oil for 2 hoursl!  I must say, it was heavenly but we’ve never done it again. That amount of oil was kind of scary.  I seem to remember more than 2 cups.  Perhaps we doubled the recipe.

July -San Francisco Seafood Stew. Umm.  This is not a great memory, but a great dish.  I got this issue in June, right as we were getting ready to move.  We were in the process of selling our house, which meant lots of remodeling.  So, Frank, my son, Gino and I were all living in the back apartment which consisted of basically one big room, a kitchen and a tiny bathroom.  Not the most ideal living conditions.  In addition, most of our stuff was in storage, and we had the anxiety of not being able to sell the house.  I eventually opted to spend most of my night’s at my Mom’s house.  We decided to make this one night and were waiting and waiting for Frank to come home.  We finally realized he wasn’t coming until late so we decided, “Fuck it.  We’ll eat without you.”  Although there was much tension in the air at this time this soup was absolutely delicious and mom and I had a lovely meal.  And, if I remember correctly, it was a good thing he didn’t come becausae we pretty much devoured it all ourselves.

San Francisco Seafood Stew

Serves 2 to 4 

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large shallot, thinly sliced

2 large garlic cloves, minced

½ cup dry white wine

1 ½ cups chicken stock

1 cup bottled clam juice

1 cup drained, diced tomatoes

2 thyme sprigs

1 bay leaf

½ teaspoon hot sauce, plus more for serving

Salt and pepper

2 dozen littleneck clams, scrubbed

¾ pound skinless snapper fillets, cut into 2-inch pieces

½ pound shelled and deveined medium shrimp

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons coarsely chopped parsley

Sourdough toast, for serving

  1. In a large soup pot, heat the olive oil.  Add the shallot and garlic and cook over medium high heat, stirring, until softened, about 3 minutes.  Add the wine and boil until reduced by half, about 3 minutes.  Add the stock, clam juice, tomatoes, thyme, bay leaf and hot sauce and season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil over high heat and cook until slightly reduced, about 10 minutes.
  2. Add the clams, cover and cook just until most of them open, about 3 to 5 minutes.  Add the snapper and shrimp, cover and simmer until they are cooked though and the remaining clams have opened, 2 to 3 minutes.  Using a slotted spoon, transfer the seafood to 4 bowls.  Add the butter and parsley and cook over moderate heat for 1 minute , swirling the pan.  Spoon the broth over the seafood and serve with sourdough toast.

FYI:  One time I made it with canned clams and catfish and it was still damn good! 

 

Tyson Cole from Uchi was one of the Best New Chefs (3rd from Austin).  I still have not made it to Uchi.  It’s become kind of a symbol for me:  When we strike it rich, we’ll go to Uchi.  I’ll let you all know when that happens.
September – Ah, Tyler Florence’s Red Curry-Lime Chicken Wings.  I gotta tell you, these are the best chicken wings ever!  And also a staple of my catering menu.  I can easily eat 20 of these in one setting.  Thank you Tyler!  Soon I will be as fat as you have become.  Oh wait, I think I’m already there.

Red-Curry-Lime Chicken Wings

4 pounds chicken wings, tips discarded, wings separated into 2 pieces

Extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling

Salt and freshly ground pepper

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1 tablespoon Thai red curry paste

1 tablespoon honey

Juice and finely grated zest of 1 lime

1 teaspoon soy sauce

  1. Preheat the oven to 475 degrees.  Spread the wings on 2 large rimmed baking sheets.  Drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper and toss.  Bake the wings for about 40 minutes, or until browned and crisp.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, blend the butter with the curry paste, honey, lime juice and zest and soy sauce.  When the wings are done, transfer them to the bowl and toss with the butter until well coated.  Transfer the wings to a platter and serve.

 2006

January-Well, we’re in Texas now and have been here since June.  I found this shopping list on a Mapquest sheet to a movie theatre: star anise, tamarind paste, ancho chile powder, quinoa, currants, poppy seed.  I must say, it’s a bit of a mystery.  The star anise could have been for the star-anise pork, and the tamarind paste and ancho chile powder could have been for a barbecue sauce for ribs, obviously the quinoa and currants go together but the poppy seed?  Lemon poppy seed cake perhaps?  Got me.
March – Came across these recipes that I make on a fairly regular basis:  Polenta Gratin w/Spinach and Wild Mushrooms, Pulled-Chicken Sandwiches, Moo Shu Shrimp (Pre-Washed, Pre-Peeled, Pre-chopped, Pre-Fab Food by Grace Parisi.)  The polenta dish is rich and decadent, definitely a special occssion side dish. The pulled chicken sandwiches were WAY too vinegary so if you plan to make them, cut the vinegar in half.  The Moo Shu 
Shrimp is so easy and delicious that I think I may make it tonight.  Gotta get the last of thosegulf  shrimp I’ve been seeing in the stores before the oily ones from the spill start coming in.  Saw an advertisement for the  First Season of  Top Chef.  Oh my, I truly love that show.   And I’m not embarrassed to proclaim it.  You know how some reality shows make you feel kind of dirty?  One day, I watched about 6 Hell’s Kitchens in a row and I swear, I had to go and take a shower.  But Top Chef?  Love it, love it, love it.
April – Came across an article on the Best of the California Wine Country.  That is so mean!  Here I am, 2000 miles away from family and friends with really, really shitty Texas wine and almost no money to spend on food and I have to read about all the wonderful places I’ve left.  I’m sure I was very sad after reading that article back then.  I was pretty sad reading it this time actually, especially having just eaten at Bottega (Michael Chiarello’s new restaurant in Yountville).
May – Mini Black Bottom Cheesecake.  Still haven’t made them but they’re in my cookbook and I so want to!
June- Chinese-Style Ribs with Guava BBQ Sauce.  THAT’S why I’ve got that guava jelly in my fridge.
July – Jacques Pepin in Mexico. I so want his life. The article starts out, “When Jacques Pepin gets ready to cook a meal at his vacation home in Playa del Carmen, Mexico”…that’s pretty much all you need to set the envy meter to 10.
November – Huh. Nothin except Onion-Mustard Monkey Bread which was awful!  I remember I was upstairs watching TV in bed while it was in the oven and it may have gotten just a little bit too done but even if I hadn’t burned it, the mustard was so overwhelming that that’s all you could taste!  I don’t know what possessed me to try this recipe.
DecemberBest Restaurant Dishes of 2006 Café 909 Frozen Pistachio Parfait, Marble Falls, TX.  I was so proud to have this local place mentioned that Frank and I had to take a trip out there for dinner.  It was, I must say, up until that time, the best meal we’d had since moving here.
I remember making the Celery Root w/Apples, Walnuts and Blue Cheese for Thanksgiving.  It was quite forgettable.  I just can’t get that excited about celery.  Of course, if I had actually used celery root instead of celery it might have been different but I just can’t justify spending like $5.00 or whatever it is these days on a stupid old celery root.

2007 

 August- Corn and Bacon Chowder w/Jalapeno Crema.  Ah hah!  Another catering stand-by.  I’ve made this probably 10 times for one of my clients.  Her family loves it!  And I’ll tell you a secret:  I make it with frozen corn on the cob and it’s just as good as if I’d used fresh.

Corn and Bacon Soup with Jalapeno Crema

6 servings

10 medium ears of corn, shucked

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 ounces lean bacon, finely diced (1/2 cup)

1 celery rib, finely diced

½ cup finely diced onion

½ cup finely diced yellow bell pepper

3 cups whole milk

1 ½ cups heavy cream

Kosher salt

Pinch of cayenne pepper

¼ cup sour cream

1 jalapeno, seeded and minced

2 tablespoons chopped cilantro, plus cilantro leaves, for garnish

½  teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Freshly ground white pepper

  1. Set a box grater in a wide shallow bowl and coarsely grate 6 ears of corn; you should have 2 cups of grated corn.  Cut the kernels from the remaining 4 ears; you should have 2 cups of kernels.
  2. In a large saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil.  Add the bacon, celery onion and yellow pepper, cover and cook over low heat, stirring a few times, until softened, about 10 minutes.  Add the grated corn, the milk and 1 cup of the heavy cream and bring to a b oil.  Reduce the heat to moderately low and simmer, stirring often, until the soup is thickened, about 20 minutes.  Season with salt and the cayenne pepper and keep warm.
  3. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil until shimmering.  Add the corn kernels to the skillet and cook over moderately high heat, stirring a few times, until they are lightly browned, about 7 minutes.  Season with salt.  Stir the cooked corn kernels into the soup and keep warm.
  4. In a blender, whip the remaining ½ cup of heavy cream to soft peaks, about 20 seconds.  Add the sour cream, jalapeno, chopped cilantro and lemon juice and blend until thick.  Season with salt and white pepper.

Ladle the soup into bowl, top with spoonfuls of jalapeno cream and cilantro leaves and serve at once. 

November- Now this was a good issue.  My niece, Lindsey was living with us at the time, her brother, Jeffrey came out for Thanksgiving and my mom and brother-in-law were here.  FAMILY!!!!  We made the  Potato Chips w/Chevere, Pepper Jelly and Bacon and the Texas Smoked Salmon Tartare for appetizers,  They’ve both since become catering favorities.  I think we also had some yummy chicken liver pate that my mom made and I believe we made some kind of poblano turkey that was incedibly moist and delicious.  I also got the Cranberry Streusel Cake (which my son loves) from this issue.
December – 3 Cheese Mini Macs.  Well, I’ve made them a couple of times but I gotta admit, the American cheese in them kind of creeps me out.  However, it is a fun way to eat macaroni and cheese.  Mini muffin size portions.  Practically no calories.

January- Fudgy Chocolate-Walnut Cookies.  Really good, really easy and no flour!  I should bring the recipe to my restaurant for all the gluten-freeks to enjoy.

2008

 June- Grill Roasted Bacon and Scallion Corn Muffins.  Seriously, how could these possibly be bad?  I’ve made quite a few variations of corn muffins over the years; with cheddar cheese, jalapenos, sour cream, etc. etc.  These are right up there with the best of them, even if you don’t cook them on the grill.   Marja’s Mac & Cheese.  (Marja being the wife of Jean-George)  I made this once for one of my Top Chef parties.  In addition to 2 or 3 cheeses on the inside, it’s dotted with cream cheese!  How delightfully decadent.  It’s nice to know that  Jean-Georges Vongerichten can enjoy something this homey and comforting.  Now there’s someone who’s got a great life!  Ah well.
November – This was another fabulous Thanksgiving issue.  I’ve gotten into the habit of switching up my menu every year and using the most recent November issue of whatever magazine I like the most.  This Citrus-Marinated Turkey was prepared like a puerco pibil.  I loved it.  We also made the Sweet Potato Gratin w/Chile Spiced Pecans which was quite yummy.

2009

I didn’t find ANYTHING that struck a chord until November!  I thought at first that I must have been more interested in my Bon Appetit and Gourmet until I realized that this was the year of the Top Chef Parties.  My husband was working in Dallas Sunday through Thursday so I had to find something with which to occupy my time or I would have ended up hanging out at the local bar and getting a bad and probably much deserved reputation.  I came up with the idea of a Top Chef Party every Wednesday and really, my entire week revolved around it.  It gave me an excuse to keep my house clean every week and something to keep me busy on Mondays and Tuesdays, mainly researching, shopping and preping recipes and then cooking for earnest on Wednesdays and then the party.  There were usually between 6 to 10 of us, mostly my work chums plus Sonja and her friend, Julieanne.  Guests would usually arrive between 7:00 and 8:00 (with liquor) and we would enjoy appetizers, drinks and then the main meal.  The meal was usually just some good old home cooking:  beef stroganoff, chicken chilaquiles, meatloaf, lasagna, chili, chicken pot pie, etc.  One night it was all appetizers and our last time together we each made our own personal pizzas.  At 9:00 we would gather around the telly, pony up our $3.00 and get down to business.  We would make a bet after the first quick-fire challenge was announced.  As soon as we learned the challenge and all the rules we would pause the show and write down our choice of winner and put it in the voting glass.  When the winner was chosen, the pot would either be won by one person, split, if more than one person picked the same contestant, or, if no one chose right, it would go into the final pot.  The same procedure was followed for the elimination challenge except that we all had to choose a winner and a loser.  By the end of the season we had about $100.00 in the final pot.  After the show, more drinking and dessert.  It was swell.  The sad thing is that it will never happen again.   My crew is scattered across the state and frankly, I can’t afford to do it this year. Oh yeah, and Frank is back home and he would only make fun of us.  But, it was a great time while it lasted.

I did find the Spiced Upside down Apple Bundt Cake in the November issue.  That is an outstanding cake.
December-My very last month.  I found the Chile Brined Fresh Ham.  This is actually a great place to end as it kind of takes me full circle.  I had two fresh hams from Winston (see My Love Affair with Pork) that I didn’t know what to do with!  I really don’t like ham so when I had Winston processed I requested that they not cure them.  When I found this recipe I was very excited.  We were driving back to California for Christmas this year so I packed up the ham in ice and carted it across the country.  We ate it a day or two before Christmas and it was quite delicious.  I also brought back some Boudin balls and Boudin sausage from Bergeron’s in Lousiana.  We fried up theirs and made some of our own to compare.  Hate to admit it, but there’s were better.   But, it was my first try.  Next on my self-challenge list:  Making my own boudin sausage.  I happen to know where I can get my hands on some pig livers.

Again, Food and Wine, thanks for the memories and thank you all for sharing them with me.

6 Responses to “Food and Wine–the second 10 years”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    a few things:

    1. you have for sure made this recipe. or if you haven’t my mom DEFINITELY has. Maple-Glazed Turkey with Bourbon-Pecan Gravy.

    2. i laughed out loud at SaT’OOEY. and had to say it myself.

    3. the SF seafood stew is one of my favorite recipes.

    i loved this one. does this mean you aren’t getting F&W at allllll anymore???
    also, i’ll add your blog to my blog site so that our blog readers will read each others blogs! k!?

    • jillmiceli Says:

      Of course I’m still getting Food and Wine and bon Appetit. I just got rid of all my old issues. In fact, I made some stuff from the new Bon Appetit that was really god. The crunchy fish tacos and the ribs. Both in one day. Princess Pig!

  2. Robert Says:

    OK, I fanally made it through this long ass blog. I felt like I was reading your diary and had so many personal references to what you were commenting on. Thanks for the shout out to FFC. I hope he reads it. His loss is BevMo’s! gain. I know how you feel about Gordon. He can be so nasty it makes my skin crawl in a good way. I’m going to make the wings this weekend. For the first time in a long, long time I get Mara, Joel, their spice and my grandkids on Father’s day. Bike ride along the American River in the AM and then swimming in the afternoon and BBQ in the evening. No more sloppy seconds, which is what I usually get on Father’s Day. Finally a holiday (sic) that I can get excited about again. I miss you!

    • jillmiceli Says:

      The wings kick ass! Just make sure you get them really really crispy before dousing them in that delicious hot sauce. Glad to hear you’re going to have a good Father’s Day. I’ll be working. (Sad face.) (I refuse to do that little face making icon-stuff so I just say it.) Tell everyone I said hi and give them (and you) a big kiss from me.

  3. Lindsey Says:

    🙂 HAPPY FACE

    😦 SAD FACE

    😉 WINKY FACE

    😛 SILLY TONGUE-OUT FACE

    8==D PENIS

    all the bloggers are doing it Jill…get on it.

Leave a Reply

